Weed Weekly – Common Plantain

Hello Fellow Bloggers!

I figured I would initiate what I will call, “Weed Weekly”.  No, not that kind of weed.  Although I am located in Colorado, I probably won’t review that herb for a while.  There are many herbs that grow in our yards that are often overlooked.  They are plucked, poisoned and generally treated as a menace.  They should instead be treated as a welcome friend!

My favorite herb in this category is Common Plantain.

Many of you may have taken this herb and not even known it.  The seeds of this plant are known for their laxative qualities and are an excellent source of fiber.  The seeds or husks that are used in these medicines are from the strain, Plantago psyllium.  These psyllium husks can be dried and made into a flower or taken as a supplement in pill form.  The seeds also have anti-inflammatory properties, which is very beneficial to anyone suffering from arthritis.

The leaves are also edible.  The younger leaves are more tender and have a lighter flavor than the mature leaves.  They can be steamed and served the same as spinach or chard.  It helps to soak them for about 5 minutes in salt before steaming to soften them even more.  They are quite tasty and are high in vitamins A, C, and K.

The leaves have also been known as a great cut, scrape, burn, and bite aide.  Just chew up a leaf or two and place directly onto the affected area.  It will help relieve pain and heal the wound faster.

Tilford. Edible and Medicinal Plants of the West. “Plantain”. Montana (1997). Print

2 comments

  1. I never really knew too much about plantains before, and now, thanks to you, I’m going to try and grab some:)

    1. You definitely should! I am a wild edible junkie. My husband and I run a survival school in Colorado and we think that being able to identify these little treasures is invaluable. I always keep some plantain salve on hand just in case I run into a gnarly spider bite.
      My husband was bitten by a hobo spider once while out on a hike. Terrible thing is, you don’t notice the effects for a day or two. We began applying plantain poultices as soon as we noticed it and I’m certain they helped him heal much faster. He was recovering from that bite for 3 months! He said that each time he applied the poultice, it was like a huge relief.

      Anyway, thank you for reading and commenting. (:

Leave a Reply

