Recipe – Vegetable Medley

A few years a friend of mine came by with a bag of vegetables from his parents’ garden.  He simply said, “I don’t like vegetables.  I figured you guys might find some use for them”.  He handed them over rather tentatively, as if he were prepared to by-pass me for the trash can.  I thought it funny that he didn’t seem to think that you could even eat beets or kale.  As he put it, he figured we would “find a use for them”, not bake, steam or fry them into deliciousness.

Regardless, they did sit in the fridge for a few days.  I had never tried kale and had only tried beets in canned form (which I didn’t care much for).  Not that I was at all opposed to vegetables, I just didn’t realize how many were out there that I hadn’t truly experienced.

Anyway, at about day three I decided that I needed to do something with them.  By the way, I love working with limited ingredients.  It forces me to be innovative.  Whenever I stop by my parents’ house to visit and sometimes cook them dinner, I always stand in the vastness of their pantry, staring down rows of canned and jarred vegetables, season packs, sauces, grains, etc. without a clue as what to make.  It’s actually daunting for me to have too many choices.

I decided to throw the diced beets, chopped kale, sliced carrots and some onion together in a sauce pan to simmer.
First I lightly oiled the pan and fried the onions till translucent.  I then added the beets and carrots and cooked for about 3 minutes.  I then layered the kale over the rest of the veggies and added about 1/2 of water and let it simmer.  I typically season this with freshly ground black pepper, a shake or two of crushed red pepper, salt and about 2 tablespoons of butter.  I let it simmer for about 30 minutes and voila!

I generally serve my Vegetable Medley over Basmati rice.  Did I mention that it is wonderfully colorful?  Especially since you can choose from several colors for beets.  Don’t forget to use the greens!

You can cut the butter out if you are vegan.  I never mind substituting my butter cravings for coconut oil.  Oh, it is the best.  Has anyone tried that evil concoction known as coconut butter?  It is so dangerously delicious.

Take care!

Leave a Reply

