Recipe – Lentil Soup

I recently inherited a 10 lb bag of lentils from my local Sunflower market. ( :Image
I was very excited because I do love lentils. I have been making a delicious soup from them for the last few days which has been very suiting and warming in this autumn air.  I thought I would share my simple and easy recipe with you guys.

Here’s what you need:

half of a red or yellow onion
2 tablespoons of olive oil
2/3 cup of lentils
6 cups of chicken broth
3/4 cup of celery
2 bay leaves
1.5 tablespoons of thyme
2 cups of spinach or chard
optional: I like to add a little bit of tomato soup to mine to give it a little more tang (maybe half a cup).

Heat the oil and fry the chopped onion till translucent. Add the broth, lentils, bay leaves, celery and thyme.  Cook for about 35 minutes.  Add the spinach or chard within the last 5-10 minutes of the cooking time. Add freshly ground black pepper and salt to taste.

I couple this soup with cornbread.  This is important for two reasons.

1. it’s delicious; corn bread always goes well with soup or beans
2. lentils are an incomplete protein; while lentils are very rich in protein (27% of their calories) they lack methionine and cystine.  Corn is an excellent source for both of these.

Some other facts:
According to nutritiondata.com, lentils are “very low in Saturated Fat, Cholesterol and Sodium.  [They are] also a good source of Protein, Iron, Phosphorus and Copper, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Folate and Manganese.”

Lentils are a great addition to your diet and are very tasty as well.  This recipe is surprisingly easy and fast.
I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.Read More http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/legumes-and-legume-products/4338/2#ixzz2B887okzA
Leave a Reply

