Recipes – My egg replacer

I ran out of eggs this morning but really wanted to make some corn bread. So, I improvised.
The recipe only calls for one egg so it isn’t that devastating to replace it with something else.

I wanted the cornbread to be moist, not-too dense, have good flavor and with a little tang.
So I mixed together 1 small, ripe avocado, 2 tablespoons of yogurt, 2 tablespoons of milk, and 1 tablespoon of a milled chia-flax mixture.   I beat them together until smooth and viola!
The other key was to add a little extra baking powder/soda to give the bread more of a lift.
I was really surprised at how well it worked.  It was the moistest, sweetest, bestest cornbread I ever made!   I think I will forever more forego eggs in my cornbread mix!

Best wishes and happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

