Minimalism – My Bathroom is My Sanctuary

tea-tubMost minimalist blogs and writers advise that you start decluttering one room at a time.  Well, I started with my bathroom and it has since became my sanctuary.  No, it isn’t as awesome as the image on the left, but I find it quite cozy and comfortable and it is totally me.It wasn’t that much of a stretch for me to start with my bathroom because I had already began reducing my bathroom necessities years ago when I cut shampoo and conditioner out of my body care routine.  See my last post to read more.

Homemade Toothpaste

I had also began making my own toothpaste about 2 years ago and I have never gone back.  My husband and I both feel that the coconut oil toothpaste we use gets our teeth cleaner and leaves our breath fresher than other toothpastes we have tried.  It is not only incredibly cheap to make, but you can also make it to your preference (my husband likes a lot of baking soda for extra scrubbing power).  Finally, another fantastic part about this homemade toothpaste is that I am not throwing away any packaging (I occasionally recycle the giant plastic tub of coconut oil, the glass peppermint oil bottle, or the giant plastic bag of baking soda).

Simplify the Shower

The next item we simplified on was that we no longer bought body wash.  We buy non-packaged bulk goat soap and use it until it is gone.  It is soft, mild, smells wonderful and has no packaging to throw away.  Can’t get better than that!  It also doubles as our shaving cream because it lathers really well.

So, our shower is fairly empty except for an orchid, a bar of soap, a sea sponge, and a wonderful boar’s hair back scrubber that I simply will not part with.

Simplify the Toilet

Next is the toilet.  What’s there to simplify about a toilet?  Well…to be honest, another thing that my husband and I found unbearably wasteful was toilet paper.  We’ve found that the best way to tend to our business is with an old fashioned rag.  We use mild anti-bacterial soap to clean with each time and I find it so much nicer than using toilet paper.  It’s a fact that a lot of people don’t get about us.

“You mean, you actually use a rag? Isn’t that kind of gross?”   No, actually, I believe is even more sanitary than using toilet paper.  To be honest, it took some getting used to but I definitely prefer it now.

On the back of our toilet sits another orchid because, well, we love them.

Bathroom Sink & Cupboard Clean Out

On the sink we have two toothbrushes, the jar of toothpaste, a bottle of antibacterial soap, a hand towel and a jar for shaving. In the cupboard is my husband’s regular deodorant and my Crystal ball deodorant.  You can guess why I like this stuff.  It has minimal packaging and when it’s gone, it’s gone.  It is a wonder this company stays in business because this product lasts FOREVER.  I’ve had mine for 2 years and it is a little less than half gone.

I have a jar of my wonderful coconut oil that I use for my hair and face, a set of manicure accessories, and an eye dropper of castor oil.  Why castor oil?  They are the best eye drops I have ever used and they also work as a eye moisturizer.  I put a drop in each eye before bed and gently swipe it to the sides for moisture both in and around my eyes.  It’s a minimalists joy to find multipurpose items.

Under the sink we have witch hazel toner and hair clippers.  Above the toilet we have two towels which are the only ones we own.

And well, that’s about it.  Except for a giant painting of the sea mounted above the toilet.   Our bathroom is simple, clean, bright and beautiful.  The few items we do have are lovely, and perfectly placed.  It’s totally me and incredibly simple.  Gotta love minimalism.

Leave a Reply

