Minimalism – The DivaCup

M1-M2-boxesOne bathroom item I forgot about is my Diva Cup. If you haven’t heard about it, read some great reviews here.  It really isn’t for everyone and it definitely takes some getting used to, but as you have probably figured out, I love anything that isn’t terribly wasteful.

Years ago I wanted to cut back on the amount of feminine products I was using and I tried several methods.

The first thing I switched to was a sliver of sea sponge.  I had heard from a friend that it worked really well for her.  She just rinsed it in the sink every few hours.  It dries very quickly, is soft and very absorbent.  Well, the problem with this is that it is NOT meant for ladies with heavier flows.  I found that it was inefficient and I was wearing a pad as backup anyway.

So then I switched to just a plain old rag for a time.  This was actually fairly comfortable but bunched up uncomfortably sometimes and would cause leaking.  Besides, I have a very heavy flow and I would have to bring backup rags and find someway to seal away the used ones during the middle of my work day.  Not cool!

Then I tried the homemade menstrual pads which solved the security problem with the rag.  They are more absorbent than a plain rag and you can line them with a really soft material for added comfort.  I liked that I could use a pattern for the exterior and the interior could be switched out for a fresh one really easily. There are a variety of patterns at Tipnut on how to make these.  But I still had issues with my heavy flow.

Finally I found out about the Diva Cup!  It is made from silicon, so no latex allergy to worry about.  It is super easy to clean and really comfortable.  I don’t even notice that it is there.  And it isn’t wasteful!   I’m in love with that.

Leave a Reply

