My Egg Donor Story – Retrieval

Taking the Trigger Shot

On Monday I went in for one of my final blood draws to check my levels and see how the eggs were developing. They found that the eggs were of the right size and ready to go with an estimated retrieval number of 15-17. Everything looked perfect, right within normal healthy levels. That night I took my trigger shot & HCG to get ready for extraction on Wednesday. One more blood work on Tuesday and I was looking good.

Retrieval Day

My retrieval needed to be done at a major hospital, so I traveled the 1 hour and a half to the Denver hospital. I needed to be there at 6am, which meant that I needed to wake up at 4am! It was very bizarre waking up in the middle of the night and even at that hour there was traffic. What do all of those people do?!

We were very confused when we arrived. The facility was like a town with endless corridors and elevators. Eventually we did find our way to the day surgery center but only after wandering around for 20 minutes. No one seemed to know where to send us to.

I checked in and was soon called back for prep. I have never been in a hospital before and the experience was very surreal. I was in a curtained area between people that were probably there for serious issues. I changed into one of those classic and comical hospital gowns that is designed to show your butt to the world and was hooked up to an IV.

I waited nervously as they asked me a series of questions about allergies, asthma, and other medical conditions. I am allergic to eggs which led to a variety of questions because the anesthesia has an egg base to it. While I do have a pretty severe allergy, it is to egg protein, not lecithin. They assured me that they didn’t think there would be a problem and being that they are highly trained, very experienced professionals, I didn’t give it another thought.

They covered me in toasty warm blankets to keep me comfortable which was lovely and wheeled me into the operating room. They didn’t mention when they had hooked up the sedative but I immediately knew when they did. I was out cold in a matter of seconds.

Post Retrieval

I woke up absolutely goofy about a half hour later and the rest of the day is a bit hazy. I remember telling the doctors over and over about how much I appreciated them in a “you’re drunk, go home” sort of way. Luckily my husband was there to translate my babble and take down any important information.

Here’s the kicker…

Rather than the expected 17 egg retrieval, they got 32 eggs!

This was both good and bad. I was very happy to have been able to offer the IPs more chances to have a successful transfer. But this also meant I am at risk of Ovarian Hyper Stimulation Syndrome.

After a few minutes I was able to get up and leave. I felt a little discomfort which grew more intense over the course of the next hour. By the time I got home I was pretty bloated, extremely tired and very uncomfortable. As soon as I got home I weighed myself and measured the most bloated diameter of my waist so I can keep track of whether or not I’m becoming overstimulated. I just happened to take my waist measurement a few days earlier and measured at 28″. When I took my measurement this time it was at 31″. That’s 3 inches! I’m hoping to see that go down soon.

For the next few days, I’m going to stay off my feet, keep my legs elevated, and drink lots of fluid to help with the bloating. Will update if anything changes!

Thus far, the bloating and pain aren’t so bad and I think it’s well worth it because I know that the IPs will be excited to have more chances of getting pregnant and have the ability to have more children later.

 

Leave a Reply

